New Worlds - Master Series 8 Slider Image 1
There are many reasons why Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony continues to be a favourite: the melding of Bohemian and American musical influences, the sublime Largo, the dramatic arc linking all four movements. It became an instant hit at its premiere 125 years ago.

Such things can happen at premieres – so don’t miss the new work by our Composer in Association, Cathy Milliken! Anthony Marwood then brings his customary flair and originality to Schumann’s Violin Concerto, a piece that was hidden away for 80 years by those who feared it presaged something of the composer’s subsequent mental collapse. In fact, it’s delightfully tuneful music, especially the violin and cello dialogue of the slow movement, and its final Polonaise has a beguiling simplicity.

Douglas Boyd - Conductor
Anthony Marwood - Violin

Cathy Milliken - New Work [World Premiere]
Schumann - Violin Concerto
Dvořák - Symphony No.9 'From the New World'

Contact Details

8233 6233

[email protected]


  • Bar
  • Family Friendly
  • Non Smoking
  • Public Toilet

Adelaide Town Hall

128 King William Street
Adelaide SA 5000


26 Sep 2019

27 Sep 2019


All tickets:
$35 to $297

Disabled access available, contact operator for details.