Idyllic Visions - Master Series 7 Slider Image 1
Some people are gifted with a profound inner peace, an assurance that all shall be well, however dark and dreadful the world around them becomes.

During World War II, Ralph Vaughan Williams wrote a symphony of singular calm and solace. Close your eyes and be carried by the slow, steady chords of the heavenly Romanza – here you may rest deeply.

A horn solo, soft but sure, awakens Brahms’ Second Piano Concerto. It’s symphonic in scope, with four movements and a notoriously challenging piano part, but Stephen Hough, with an inner calm of his own, reveals it as an intimate dialogue between soloist and orchestra: “a search for common ground where, as in life, the sun can shine brightest... and warmest.”

Mark Wigglesworth - Conductor
Stephen Hough - Piano

Vaughan Williams - Symphony No.5
Brahms - Piano Concerto No.2

Contact Details

8233 6233

[email protected]


  • Bar
  • Family Friendly
  • Non Smoking
  • Public Toilet

Adelaide Town Hall

128 King William Street
Adelaide SA 5000


06 Sep 2019

07 Sep 2019


All tickets:
$35 to $297

Disabled access available, contact operator for details.