Skip to main content

Beethoven 250

Adelaide Town Hall

Beethoven 250 Slider Image 1
250 years of Beethoven, in six chapters and seven composers.
To conclude the 2020 National Season, the ACO pay tribute to the most influential composer to have ever lived, Ludwig van Beethoven.

In celebration of the 250-year anniversary of the birth of the compositional giant, Richard Tognetti will lead the ACO through music that signposts every 50 years from 1770 to the current day, presenting an opportunity to grasp the sheer magnitude of Beethoven’s enduring legacy and the development of music over the last quarter millennium.

Moving from Mozart to Schubert, through to George Crumb and a brand-new work by US-UK composer Anna Clyne, along with Vaughan Williams’ soaring The Lark Ascending in a signature performance by Richard Tognetti, the concert concludes with Beethoven’s last major orchestral work, his Cavatina & Grosse Fugue. This epic and fiendishly virtuosic masterpiece is one of Beethoven’s greatest achievements, and to this day resounds with perpetual modernity.

Contact Details

1800 444 444

[email protected]


Adelaide Town Hall

King William Street
Adelaide SA 5000

10 November 2020 — 10 November 2020 Next Occurrence: 10 November 2020