Dwelling ('Nurney House'), including Loggia, Garden, Sheds, Laundry, Garage and Boundary Walls to Kingston Terrace and Stanley Street


126-133 Kingston Terrace NORTH ADELAIDE

Prominently situated on a large walled block overlooking the Park Lands, Nurney House dates back to the founding years of the Colony and is one of the earliest dwellings surviving in North Adelaide. It was built as a town residence for Capt. Charles Hervey Bagot, prominent early South Australian colonist, parliamentarian and pastoralist, and a founder of the Kapunda Copper Mine, one of the earliest mines in the colony. Since its construction Nurney House has been the home for various generations of the Bagot family. Around 1930 the original 1847 two-storey residence was enlarged and extensively remodelled in an eclectic Italianate style by Captain Bagot's great grandson, influential South Australian architect Walter Hervey Bagot, for his own residence. The southern courtyard, loggia and garden created as part of the c.1930 alterations add considerably to the distinctiveness of the building and are of particular architectural interest, as this concept was unique for its period within South Australia. The detailing of the interior of the house is also notable, due to features such as panelled vaults, highly decorated ceilings and cornices. After receiving his formal architectural training in Europe, Walter Hervey Bagot became a partner in the prominent Adelaide architectural practice Woods, Bagot, Jory and Laybourne Smith, which was responsible for the design of many of the major public buildings in South Australia from early in the twentieth century. A great admirer of Italian art and architecture, Bagot lectured on Italian art at the Art Gallery of South Australia and founded the Australian-Italian Society. He was a commissioner of the National Park at Belair and a governor of the Botanic Garden. The remodelling of Nurney House to resemble an Italian villa reflects Bagot's personal skills and interests and is an outstanding example of the work of this renowned South Australian architect. [Adapted from: Woodhead International Nurney House Conservation Plan' 1997]