Christmas trading hours and getting around


Posted on 01 Nov 2019

Trading Hours

Various retailers in the city have extended their hours to ensure you get all your special gifts and finishing touches in time for Christmas.

DateOpening hours
Tuesday 17 December
7:00 am to 5:30 pm
Wednesday 18 December
9:00 am to 5:30 pm
(optional trading day)
Thursday 19 December
9:00 am to 5:30 pm
Friday 20 December
7:00 am to 9:00 pm
Saturday 21 December
7:00 am to 3:00 pm
Sunday 22 December
9:00 am to 3:00 pm
Monday 23 December
7:00 am to 5:30 pm
Tuesday 24 December
6:00 am to 5:30 pm
Wednesday 25 December
Closed
Thursday 26 December
Closed
Friday 27 December
7:00 am to 9:00 pm
Saturday 28 December
7:00 am to 3:00 pm
Sunday 29 December
Closed
Monday 30 December
Closed
Tuesday 31 December
7:00 am to 5:30 pm
Wednesday 1 January
Closed
Thursday 2 January
9:00 am to 5:30 pm

Check with individual retailers for stall opening times.

DateOpening hours
Friday 29 November (Black Friday)9:00 am to Midnight*
Sunday 1 December9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sunday 8 December9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sunday 15 December9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Monday 16 December9:00 am to 7:00 pm
Tuesday 17 December
9:00 am to 7:00 pm
Wednesday 18 December
9:00 am to 7:00 pm
Thursday 19 December
9:00 am to 10:00 pm (*midnight)
Friday 20 December
9:00 am to 10:00 pm (*midnight)
Saturday 21 December
9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Sunday 22 December
9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Monday 23 December
9:00 am to 10:00 pm (*midnight)
Tuesday 24 December
9:00 am to 5:30 pm
Wednesday 25 December
Closed
Thursday 26 December
9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Friday 27 December
9:00 am to 9:00 pm
Saturday 28 December
9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Sunday 29 December
9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Monday 30 December
9:00 am to 5:30 pm
Tuesday 31 December
9:00 am to 5:30 pm
Wednesday 1 January
11:00 am to 5:00 pm


*Trading hours may vary from store to store including department stores, who will be open until midnight on selected days

Check with individual retailers for stall opening times.

Getting around

No matter what your mode of transport is, getting into the city can be simple this season.

To assist people getting to special Christmas events with ease, Adelaide Metro operate additional bus, train and tram services.

Check their calendar

For convenient parking this festive season, UPark has you covered.

Get your $8 flat rate parking at scheduled times across nine convenient city locations, with five carparks open on Christmas Day.

Park for free for stays under 60 minutes at UPark Central Market (on any declared Market trading day over the festive season). Excludes nights, Sundays & Public Holidays.

Book online

City of Adelaide Services

If you need to hire a book or see a friendly face over the holidays, City of Adelaide services are operating at select times over the season.

City LibraryHours
Monday 23 December
10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Tuesday 24 December 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Wednesday 25 December Closed
Thursday 26 December Closed
Friday 27 December 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Saturday 28 December 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sunday 29 December 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Monday 30 December 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Tuesday 31 December 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Wednesday 1 January Closed

Hutt Street and North Adelaide Libraries
Hours
Tuesday 24 December
10:00 am to 5:00 pm
25 December to 1 January
Closed

Normal opening hours resume Thursday 2 January 2020.

Community CentreClosed
Adelaide South WestDecember 19 to January 5 inclusive
North AdelaideDecember 19 to January 7 inclusive
Box FactoryDecember 19 to January 7 inclusive

See normal opening hours